300 m
Administrative house, “puustelli”, 1738-1926
Remember to respect private property!
Kalajoki used to have two military administrative houses (known as “puustelli” in Finnish): the Marttila estate in the current town center, and the Tiikkala estate on the south side of river and near the Kärjä house.
Tiikkala was inhabited by the brothers Edgren from 1795 to 1833. Anders Edgren first lived there for 12 years and his brother Samuel after he arrived in Kalajoki after the War of Finland in 1811.
Samuel Edgren started his military career in 1790 and retired from the Swedish army as a second lieutenant. He had participated both in the Gustav 3rd's War and the War of Finland, where he served in Sandel’s troops.
The parents and three daughters of the Edgren family all died in the 1830s, when Kalajoki experienced three years of crop failure in a row, as well as a dysentery and typhoid fever epidemics. Only two daughters remained alive, and they both moved to the South-Ostrobothnia region where they got married.
Daughter Sofia Susanna and her legal guardian tax clerk J.D. Molander rented the family estate to farmer Jaakko Juhonpoika Hannula. This turned the military administrative estate into a regular farm.
“Churches, crime scenes, and landscapes”
The popular biking route, Bridges of Tynkä, has many fascinating sites of local history that even date back to the Middle Ages.
For 500 years, Kalajoki has been an important center for farming and social life, where many different enterprises and businesses have flourished.
The route consists of stories, historical research, cultural heritage, and art. For example: the locations of the first and second church of Kalajoki, historical crime scenes, art, traditional landscapes, antiques...
Route details: